Thus I have Spoken

July 25, 2008

Pro 2A? Maybe. Pro 1A? Mmm, not so much

Filed under: Firearms,Life,Politics — steamdragon @ 6:56 pm

http://www.madison.com/tct/opinion/letters/297313

The dragon is STEAMED.

A while ago I posted a story by Mike Vanderboegh.

Turns out that it is a chapter in a novel he is writing.

There is a “chapters link” at Codreas War on Guns.

Mike recently wrote a letter to the editor of some newsraper that has set off a certain segment of the freedom loving Pro 2A community.

They want Mike to shut up.

How democratic of them.

Mike’s been around awhile. He knows history. He tells a good story. He puts his real name at the end of each of his posts. Hell, I never did THAT, even back in the BBS days.

I don’t have any idea how long Mike has been active in pro 2A, but I get the impression it has been quite a few years. If I had to guess, I’d say at least 10. Probably closer to 40.

Side bar…

I first started shooting with my grandfather when I was about 6 years old.

I bought my first rifle, a small ring mauser, when I was 8 years old. Just before my 10th birthday, GCA 1968 passed into law.

It was illegal for me to even touch my own property until I was 18 years old.

That pissed me off.

The same time I was allowed to handle my guns again, I started running for public office. On a pro 2A ticket.

I still run every 2 years. Sometimes I win, sometimes I lose.

Point is, I’ve been pro 2A active for 30 + years.

Not so much on the internet, but in op-eds, letters to editors, council meetings, party meetings, central committee meetings, state congressional testimonies, meetings with senators and or congress critters, county commissioners, city/village/township council members, Etc &c.

Been there. Got the ulcers.

Still there.

/sidebar

David Codrea has been around a long time. He’s had to put up with some of the same crap, most likely from the same people, as Mike.

They want him to shut up.

John Ross has been vilified by some of these Pro 2A folks. They want him to shut up.

I don’t put a lot of 2A posts on my blog, here, because I feel my time is better spent talking face to face or on the phone to people. I do a lot of that.

If I posted as much as I correspond with electeds, well, there just aren’t that many hours in a day.

But if I posted some of my conversations, those oh so Pro 2A youngsters would be telling me to shut up too.

Who are these anti 1A folks?

Well, there is a Bitter Bitch, who posts on a blog that has been around since 2002… 6 years.

Nice of her to fire up that first computer and get involved.

Then there is Sebastian Who started his blog to impress Bitter… Says he is 30 something.

Junior.

Congratulations on marrying the bitter bitch… First I heared of it.

Then we have Firearms & freedom blog.

Started in March 2008. WOW! that’s been out there a while!

Done anything else?

Plus a whole bunch of folks that don’t provide links to their home blog or whatever.

Funny thing.

The folks that have been fighting this fight for more than ten years, seem to realize a lot clearer that it is NOT just 2A.

Speech, Property, freedom of religion.

We have free speech!

McCain/Feingold

We have our property!

Kelo v. New London

We have freedom of religion!

Tell it to the Waco church. 87 dead over a suspected $200.00 unpaid tax.

Or the 460+ kids stolen from their parents in (again) texas.

You know, The Fundamentalist Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints case?

You folks that want us to shut up, need to get your heads around the fact that 2A isn’t ‘all that and a bag of chips.’

It is only YOUR pet project.

And YOU ain’t been around.

You have no history. You don’t know what it was like before you were born, and you can not relate.

Hell, from here, it looks like you don’t even want to try to relate.

Mike wrote that letter to do the equivalent of yelling “STOP!” at the rapist. A warning, praying that he won’t have to follow through and MAKE HIM STOP.

And you facists want him (and us) to shut up.

Oh, and “Getting involved?” It is more than voting every 4 years and donating $5.00 to a candidate at the county fair.

Run for an office yourself. Any office.

Then you’ll find out how it really works.

UPDATE: Michael Bane has weighed in.

So has Kevin

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

