Thus I have Spoken

November 6, 2006

Oh, you’re one of THOSE…

Filed under: Blogging,Politics — steamdragon @ 7:54 pm

That’s what the man said to me.

I was sitting there in the coffee shop, discussing one of our local races with a friend.

The (cough)gentleman(cough) Proceeded to inform us that he never worried about who to  vote for because he never voted.

Uh oh…

I LIKE this game…

“Why?” says I.

“Because they’s all  dirty, every one,” he said.

Hmm… I have not missed an election since 1976, the first I was eligable to vote. Hell, I change my address at the election bureau before getting my license updated!
(Oops, I forgot the two special elections that occured while I was overseas in the army.)

This guy is more than a few years older than me.

So, I ask him, “Never voted? REALY?”

“Nope,” he said with pride.

“So what is your opinion of the war in Iraq?” I asked.


That’s what the man said to me.

I was sitting there in the coffee shop, discussing one of our local races with a friend.

The (cough)gentleman(cough) Proceeded to inform us that he never worried about who to  vote for because he never voted.

Uh oh…

I LIKE this game…

“Why?” says I.

“Because they’s all  dirty, every one,” he said.

Hmm… I have not missed an election since 1976, the first I was eligable to vote. Hell, I change my address at the election bureau before getting my license updated!
(Oops, I forgot the two special elections that occured while I was overseas in the army.)

This guy is more than a few years older than me.

So, I ask him, “Never voted? REALY?”

“Nope,” he said with pride.

“So what is your opinion of the war in Iraq?” I asked.


That’s what the man said to me.

I was sitting there in the coffee shop, discussing one of our local races with a friend.

The (cough)gentleman(cough) Proceeded to inform us that he never worried about who to vote for because he never voted.

Uh oh…

I LIKE this game…

“Why?” says I.

“Because they’s all dirty, every one,” he said.

Hmm… I have not missed an election since 1976, the first I was eligable to vote. Hell, I change my address at the election bureau before getting my license updated!
(Oops, I forgot the two special elections that occured while I was overseas in the army.)

This guy is more than a few years older than me.

So, I ask him, “Never voted? REALY?”

“Nope,” he said with pride.

“So what is your opinion of the war in Iraq?” I asked.

“Well,” he started…

“SHUT THE HELL UP!” I yelled.
“You got nothing to say that any one wants to hear! Your opinion isn’t worth the CO2 it would take for you to expectorate it! The one day, The ONE TIME you have a chance for your opinion to count, and you won’t.

And what makes me sick is how you sit here and show PRIDE that you’ve never even once given enough of a damn about anything to take the -what- 20 minutes out of your busy life to vote.

So just sit there and be a good little kid and leave political discussions to us adults.

“It’s a free country, I’ll say what I want!” he said.

My friend rolled his eyes…

“A free country, yes… NO THANKS TO YOU! And, Yes, you can say anything you like. Even that the sky is orange with green polkadots. which is about all the weight your opinions carry.

OKay, Okay, I’m sorry. It’s just that if a person won’t vote when the opportunity is there then he shouldn’t talk about politics any other time.

And by politics, I mean ANY ISSUE.

I don’t even give 2 (deleted)s who you vote for. Or Against. That would be between you and your concience.

Just vote.

Too late for tomorrow, but not for the next one. Here’s a voter regestration card. already has postage on it. Fill it out, and mail it in. Otherwise, you have NOTHING to say.

Nothing.

We got up to leave, and the guy just sat there looking at us.

“Never had anyone say it that way, before.” He said.

And picked up our check.

EDIT to add:

And all you folksies that are thinking of staying home tomorrow?

Don’t.

Even if you can’t vote for (or against) the senator or congress critter running, There are issues on just about every ballot across the country. Hint. If it involves a constitutional ammendment, you should probably vote NO.

If you can’t even do that, then at least sign in, and turn in a blank ballot.

5 Comments »

  1. Very well said.

    Comment by David Drake — November 6, 2006 @ 9:08 pm | Reply

  2. …and your one o’ dose voters ‘dere, eh-? hmmmmmmmm…….

    Comment by David Drake — November 6, 2006 @ 9:09 pm | Reply

  3. one that makes the effort to understand the issues and positions of candidates and then votes accordingly?
    every election?

    ahyup.
    That would be me…

    Comment by steamdragon — November 7, 2006 @ 6:51 am | Reply

  4. one that makes the effort to understand the issues and positions of candidates and then votes accordingly?
    every election?

    That’s the key. People who have no idea what the issues are and can only regurgitate sound bites from the media or major party rhetoric, people who haven’t actually READ the ballot initiatives upon which they are about to vote, people who would try to determine the direction the country should take based upon their own ignorance and preconceptions….SHOULD STAY HOME.

    I don’t want lazy, good for nothing, narcissists deciding how our country is going to be run. They need to restrict their votes to the things that they actually pay some attention to…like who should be kicked off the next reality show or which sports players to have on their “fantasy” team. Leave the important things to the grown-ups.

    Comment by Sailorcurt — November 8, 2006 @ 2:02 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

